The Symbolism of the Eternal Spiral

2011-8-2-Necklace-woven silver spiral with garnetI’ve adopted the spiral as a symbol of my continuing creative journey.   My Eternal Spiral jewelry is created in Argentium silver (a slow to tarnish silver) or traditional sterling silver and accented with red garnets or other gemstones. These designs will continue to evolve and change over time. My spiral designs are available as necklaces, pendants, earrings, and bracelets.

I feel that the garnet is a perfect stone for my Eternal Spiral designs. Garnets have been used by peoples of many cultures since ancient times. There are several varieties of garnet in different colors. These particular red garnets come from Mozambique. The garnet is thought to bring out the best in the person who wears it and to bring luck to the wearer.


Earrings-woven silver open spirals with garnets

swirl-Header-Diana2011-3-2-Earrings-flat coiled sterling silver2011-7-2-Necklace-silver coils handmade chain





To many, the spiral represents a spiritual journey – a broadening of consciousness. The spiral is a very compelling shape that can be found in numerous cultures from Hindu temples and Arabic frescos to Native American petroglyphs and Australian aboriginal art. In the Hopi culture, the spiral symbol represents the number of times a person has gone to the four corners of the World. In Celtic myth the spiral is seen as representing awareness of the individual within the larger world – letting go and release, evolution and growth. Early Irish symbols show spiral designs representing summer and winter and a double spiral for the equinoxes and the spiral is frequently seen in Celtic art where they decorate a large variety of objects. Spirals are also plentiful in nature – the chambered nautilus or an unfolding fern frond are two examples.

Ecclesiastes 3: 1-8
American King James Version

“To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away; A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.”



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.